Iowa Composers Forum

Hammers and Mallets

Hammers and Mallets

The Iowa Composers Forum is excited to announce our fall concert series, featuring new music written by Iowan composers, performed by two of Iowa’s finest chamber musicians.

This October, percussionist Matthew Andreini and pianist Sean Botkin, both professors of music at the University of Northern Iowa, will perform music by Scott Eiklenborg (student at Wartburg College), Ben Hippen (Decorah resident), Brooke Joyce (Luther College Composer-in-Residence), Logan Larson (Luther College graudate), Lisa Neher (faculty member at Coe and Grinnell Colleges), and Jillian Whitaker (UNI graduate).

The program will be presented twice:

1)     at the Cedar Rock House, a Frank Lloyd Wright Usonian home, in Quasqueton, on Saturday, October 7 at 5 pm. Tickets available by contacting Brooke Joyce,

2)     at the Porter House Museum in Decorah, on Tuesday, October 24 at 7:30 pm. Tickets available by contacting the Porter House,

The Iowa Composers Forum (ICF) was founded in March of 1987 in Des Moines by seven composers who wished to create an environment for the performance and dissemination of music composed by Iowans. Over the intervening years, the ICF has presented more than 100 concerts and tour recitals of works by member composers. These concerts have featured the performances of over 800 works of new music, including works by student composers from the elementary, middle, high school and collegiate level. The ICF has commissioned many new works, both unilaterally and in partnership with other organizations such as the Iowa Music Teachers Association and the Iowa Choral Directors Association. The ICF sponsors its own annual student composition competition, open to students studying at the collegiate level and earlier.

Comments are closed.


This article was written on 26 Aug 2017, and is filled under Uncategorized.