Iowa Composers Forum

2022 Student Composer Competition Winners

The Iowa Composers Forum is happy to announce the results of the 23rd annual Student Composition Contest. Denise Knaack, coordinator of the contest, has released the results of the judging. Judges this year were ICF members Hong-Da Chin, Assistant Professor of Music Theory and Composition at Western Illinois University, and Greg A. Steinke, PhD, Composer/Oboist/Conductor/Writer. The first place winner in each division receives a cash award. Selected winning compositions will be performed at an ICF Festival of New Music.

The Forum extends its congratulations and encouragement to all the entrants. All winners receive a one-year membership to the Iowa Composers Forum.

Middle School Division
1st place ($100) “Brass Quartet in E-flat Major” by Ethan Peterson of Davenport, Iowa; teacher Dr. Perry Mears.

High School Division
1st place ($125) “Asymmetry Prelude” by Lucas Zaehringer of Muscatine, Iowa; teacher Richard Sessler.

College Division
1st place ($200) “Toy Box Suite” by Evan Erickson of Dubuque, Iowa; teacher Tracey Rush.


Comments are closed.


This article was written on 28 Jun 2022, and is filled under Uncategorized.