Iowa Composers Forum

Robert Avalon International Competition for Composers (September 21)

On behalf of the Foundation for Modern Music, I would like to invite your current and former students to enter the 10th Annual Robert Avalon International Competition for Composers. The postmark deadline for scores and films is Friday, 21 September 2018, and the top two places in each division receive cash awards. Prizewinners are requested to be present for the concert in Houston in January 2019; participating in the performance and/or rehearsals is encouraged but optional.

Past judges serving on our distinguished panel have included William Bolcom, Kyong-Mee Choi, Edmund Cionek, Colin Eatock, Carlisle Floyd, Arthur Gottschalk, Gabriela Frank, Daron Hagen, Ted Hearne, Laura Jackson, Anne LeBaron, Tania León, Carman Moore, Robert Nelson, Chris Theofanidis, Juan Trigos, Mary Carol Warwick, and Barbara White. Composers from around the globe have participated as contestants, and each year both established and new voices benefit from the acclaim of prestigious artists.

This unique and signature event for our organization includes four categories for chamber music: Junior, High School, University/Emerging Artist, and Professional. The latter classification has no age limit; professors are therefore eligible as well. For 2018, the short film score division returns for its second year. Below is the web address for further information. Please feel free to refer any questions to me.

Best regards,

Dr. Paul Boyd
FMM Executive Director
Professor of Music
College of the Mainland

Comments are closed.


This article was written on 21 Aug 2018, and is filled under Uncategorized.